TOPIC:

An Idea of what Zup Goes Through Everyday 7 years 4 months ago #353585

• Agent003{WP*}
  • Agent003{WP*}'s Avatar Topic Author
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
  • Thank you received: 968
So I'm going off everything I know and have read, correct me if I'm wrong on anything.

A lot of people tend to be disappointed in Zuperman for all the bugs and issues with Elite. I'm not trying to talk about anyone in specific. This is directed towards the community as a whole. I know that not a huge amount of players know what it's really like to be zup. I'm gonna try and give everybody some perspective.

I'm not a programmer, I'll say that right now. The most I can do is draw a simple picture with JavaScript. But I know a lot of programmers and I know how a lot of it works. Anyone want to guess what kind of coding it takes to make a game like this? With rules, entities, systems, and linking user interface with terrain, websites, and servers? I don't know the exact number, but I can tell you it's probably not less than 10-12 THOUSAND lines of code. In a word document with 1 inch margins and 12 pt. font, thats the better part of a gigabyte in pages. Now in raw text with no format or margins it's less, but I thought I'd give you a number in easy things to understand. It very well may be HUNDREDS of thousands of lines of code, depending on the code language and some other factors. But bottom line. That is a metric crud ton of code to write.

Now when zup started this idea, and I challenge you to find the DF Elite Kickstarter page, he had a team. From what I've read, money got tight back if df1 and he had to lay off everyone else. He is the only employee of Echoboom Apps. That alone is sad. But without coworkers he has a massive amount of work every day. Trust me, its a full time job for sure.